

Meeting Agenda/Minutes MBUG Executive Committee

Purpose of Meeting:	Executive Committee Meeting	Approved:	February 27, 2013	
Meeting Date:	October 17, 2012	President:	Rosiland Garner	
Start Time:	10:30 a.m.	President-Elect:	Allen Coleman	
End Time:	1:00 p.m.	Treasurer:	Cay Lollar	
Location:	Holmes Community College	Secretary:	Lisa McDaniel	
	Ridgeland, MS	Past-President	Dow Ford	

Representatives	Technical/ Functional			Phone	Present/Absent
Officer	President	Rosiland A. Garner	rgarner@its.msstate.edu	662-325-9177	Present
Officer	Pres-Elect	Allen Coleman	alcoleman@iccms.edu	662-862-8105	Absent
Officer	Treasurer	Cay Lollar	clollar@iccms.edu	662-329-7134	Present
Officer	Secretary	Lisa McDaniel	lmcdaniel@its.muw.edu	662-329-7377	Present
Officer	Past-President	Dow Ford	dford@prcc.edu	601-403-1030	Absent
Alcorn State University	Technical	Donna Hayden	dhayden@alcorn.edu	601-877-6674	Present
Alcorn State University	Functional	Jimmy Smith	jsmith@alcorn.edu	601-877-3966	Absent
Delta State University	Technical	Chris Giger	cgiger@deltastate.edu	662-846-4104	Present
Delta State University	Functional	Ŭ			
Holmes Community College	Technical	Kevin Baker	kbaker@holmescc.edu	662-472-9122	Absent
Holmes Community College	Functional	Matt Surrell	msurrell@holmescc.edu	662-472-9178	Present
IHL	Technical	Stephen Frederic	sfrederic@mississippi.edu		Present
IHL	Functional	Eric Atchison	eatchison@mississippi.edu	601-432-6288	Present
Itawamba Community College	Technical	(officer)			
Itawamba Community College	Functional	Tammie Dill	twdill@iccms.edu	662-862-8031	Present
Jackson State University	Technical	Artis Smith	artis.smith@jsums.edu	601-979-1080	Absent
Jackson State University	Functional	Bettye Graves	bettye.r.graves@jsums.edu	601-979-2803	Absent
Mississippi College	Functional	Cindy Hampton	hampton@mc.edu	601-925-3485	Present
Mississippi College	Technical	Jim Pilgrim	jpilgrim@mc.edu	601-925-3814	Present
Mississippi Delta Community College	Technical	Lisa Jones	ljones@msdelta.edu	662-246-6374	Absent
Mississippi Delta Community College	Functional	Cassandra Atley	catley@msdelta.edu	662-820-9556	Present
Meridian Community College	Technical	Phillip Brooks	pbrooks@mcc.cc.ms.us	601-484-8691	Absent
Meridian Community College	Functional	Ashley Jones	ajones41@meridiancc.edu	601-484-8636	Present
MS Gulf Coast Comm. College	Technical	David Besancon	david@mgccc.edu	228.897.3902	Absent
MS Gulf Coast Comm. College	Functional	Louise Brown	louise.brown@mgccc.edu	601-928-6278	Present
Mississippi State University	Technical	(officer)			
Mississippi State University	Functional	Teresa Shannon	teresa@saffairs.msstate.edu	662-325-2223	Present
Mississippi University for Women	Technical	(officer)			
Mississippi University for Women	Functional	Tammy Prather	tprather@registrar.muw.edu	662-329-7134	Present
MS Valley State University	Technical	Monteusz Monroe	Monteusz.monroe@mvsu.edu	662-254-3649	Present
MS Valley State University	Functional	Joyce Dixon	jadixon@mvsu.edu	662-254-3308	Present
Northeast MS Community College	Technical	Angie Mason	abmason@nemcc.edu	662-720-7458	Absent
Northeast MS Community College	Functional	Shannon Tucker	stucker@nemcc.edu	662-720-7290	Present
Pearl River Community College	Technical	Steve Howard	showard@prcc.edu	601-403-1219	Absent
Pearl River Community College	Functional	(officer)			
		, ,			

Rosiland Garner called the meeting to order.

There were 19 members in attendance as well as visitor Desmond Steward. The following new members were introduced: Stephen Frederic and Monteusz Monroe.

The previous minutes were reviewed with Cindy Hampton moving to accept and Louise Brown seconding.

Financial Statement

Cay Lollar gave the financial statement. The total revenue was \$33,248.09, and the total expenses were \$23,989.03 for an ending balance of \$24, 183.92.

Conference Evaluation

It was suggested that we add the registered attendees to the MBUG listserv. The registration form needs to be online with a list of member institutions. The attendance Sunday night was low. Dow Ford's welcome Monday morning was very good. Vendors should let the board know who won their door prizes if they were not given out at the conference.

Cay Lollar moved that we give Edith Riley a raise to \$750 plus expenses for her program coordinator duties with Joyce Dixon seconding the motion. All were in favor.

Each presenter should have a backup presenter for last minute cancellations. Fees are not waived for presenters.

Threat assessment would be a good opening session or general session for the next conference. There is a problem finding presenters for Housing and Alumni.

There was a problem with the placement of vendors. The tables should be assigned beforehand next year with gold sponsors getting the front tables.

Board of Directors

The constitution states that each member school can have one functional and one technical representative on the board. The decision was made to not change the constitution, but to allow schools to determine whether a board member is functional or technical. Angle Mason will be the technical member for Northeast CC.

2013 Conference

Artis Smith was not present to give options for the Jackson area.

Ashley Jones researched the following sites:

Pearl River Resort – Did not get good feedback from them.

Lake Tiakata – Not feasible

Riley Center at MSU – would provide a shuttle

Eric Atchison will get information on Flowood.

Cindy Hampton - Natchez.

Rooms will be \$99 with breakfast, and the other prices will be comparable to the last conference there.

Tammie Dill – Whispering Winds, Olive Branch

Rooms will be \$92 with 14 breakout rooms for sessions. There will not be a charge for meeting rooms if enough rooms are booked.

The possible dates for the conference are September 15-17 and September 22-24. Rosiland will contact Artis Smith for information on Jackson and will email the board for a vote. Donna Hayden will get information on Vicksburg.

Allen Coleman will post pictures from the conference on the website as well as the presentations.

A move was made to adjourn by Louise Brown with Cay Lollar seconding. The meeting was adjourned at 1:00.

Minutes recorded by Lisa McDaniel, MBUG Secretary